Another mighty warrior has fallen.  Barbaro, winner of the Kentucky Derby and heavily favored to win the Preakness, sustained a career-ending and life-threatening injury to his right rear leg.  The three-year old colt won the Kentucky Derby by a commanding margin, drawing comparisons to Secretariat, the legendary Triple Crown winner.  Barbaro could have become the first horse to win the Triple Crown of horse racing (Kentucky Derby/Preakness/Belmont Stakes) since Affirmed won the coveted trifecta in 1978.  Barbaro’s fractured leg was an unexpected shock, dousing any flickering hopes for a Triple Crown winner this year.  Sports fans, especially horse racing aficionados, have been left wondering when the next Triple Crown winner will seize victory from the grip of defeat.
Barbaro’s tragedy is reminiscent of other recent failed Triple Crown contenders.  For those who enjoy watching thoroughbred horse racing, who could forget underdog Smarty Jones in 2004, when he fell short of the Triple Crown at the hooves of stronger rival Birdstone?  Or Funny Cide running away with the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, only to be stopped by favored Empire Builder in the Belmont Stakes?  In the 28 years since Affirmed’s Triple Crown, 17 colts have teased fans with two Triple Crown victories, but none have won all three races.  Barbaro’s fall is especially bitter because he was such a dominant horse–the kind you knew had the potential to win it all.  Like many great competitors, Barbaro fell in defeat astonishingly fast.  No longer is winning Barbaro’s objective–it’s survival.

Books by MG EdwardsMG Edwards is a writer of books and stories in the thriller and science fiction-fantasy genres. He also writes travel adventures and children’s books. A former U.S. diplomat, he served in South Korea, Paraguay, and Zambia before leaving the Foreign Service to write full time.

Edwards is author of six books. His memoir, Kilimanjaro: One Man’s Quest to Go Over the Hill, was finalist for the Book of the Year Award and the Global eBook Award. He has published four children’s picture books in the World Adventurers for Kids Series: Alexander the Salamander; Ellie the Elephant; Zoe the Zebra; and a collection featuring all three stories. His book Real Dreams: Thirty Years of Short Stories is an anthology of 15 short stories.

Edwards lives in Taipei, Taiwan with his family. He has also lived in Austria, Singapore and Thailand. For more books or stories by M.G. Edwards, visit his web site at or contact him by e-mail at or on Twitter @m_g_edwards.

Bitcoin donations: 3NocgF7mH21zKC4EV2iYKftrSMW1BX71tx

Ethereum donations: 0x06d5c0421503536efb7333f3901b98ec4b9750964

© 2019 Brilliance Press. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be reproduced or transmitted without the written consent of the author. World Adventurers and BE. Brilliance Equity are registered trademarks of Brilliance Equity LLC.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. Billy's Gravatar Billy
    May 23, 2006    

    Affirmed wasn’t even born in 1973 he won the triple crown in 1978 the year after Seattle Slew

  2. Angeline's Gravatar Angeline
    May 23, 2006    

    Hi Mike & family,
    Welcome back!  Miss your postings. 

  3. MIKE's Gravatar MIKE
    May 24, 2006    

    Thank you, Wzard9.  I corrected the year to 1978.  –Mike

Leave a Reply